Student Webinar Series: A Look at Teenage Pregnancy Cases in Kenya

When:  Oct 29, 2020 from 2:00 PM to 3:00 PM (CT)

Thursday October 29, 2020

3 PM Eastern/2 PM Central/1 PM Mountain/12 Noon Pacific

Joy Christine Nduta Kimani, a university student at Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology in Kenya, will present her research on adolescent pregnancies in Kenya. Her research explores the impacts of teen pregnancies on the health of the mothers and offers strategies for reducing teen pregnancies. Tableau is utilized to share the story of teen pregnancies in Kenya via data visualizations.

This webinar is the first in a series featuring the 2020 University Student and Young Professional Digital Competition finalists. The live webinar series with Q&A will be available to URISA members at no cost. Following the live presentation, a recording will be made available to share with non-URISA members.

Moderator: Xan Fredericks, GISP - US Geological Survey, St Petersburg, Florida

Presenters

  • Joy Christine Nduta Kimani, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Kenya
  • May Yariwo Kitiyo, Women in GIS Kenya

Co-hosted by URISA’s Vanguard Cabinet and Professional Education Committee

Biography: Currently, Joy Christine Nduta Kimani is a Geomatic engineering student at Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology where she is working to better her skills in spatial data analysis, remote sensing, surveying and mapping.  She is familiar with various software such as ArcGIS Online, Tableau and ERDAS IMAGINE among others.  She has also sharpened her skills in software development having attended a 5 month coding bootcamp recently. She’s also a finalist of the URISA Student and Young professional digital completion 2020 that was held in August. Joy also enjoys travelling and exploring other places in the world through maps.