July 2022 Making Sense of Social Indices Workshop

Starts:  Jul 25, 2022 12:00 PM (CT)
Ends:  Jul 26, 2022 04:00 PM (CT)

Making Sense out of Social Indices

URISA Certified Workshop, presented virtually, over two days, four hours each day:

Monday, July 25, 2022: 1:00-5:00 PM Eastern/12:00-4:00 PM Central/11:00 AM-3:00 PM Mountain/10:00 AM-2:00 PM Pacific

Tuesday, July 26, 2022: 1:00-5:00 PM Eastern/12:00-4:00 PM Central/11:00 AM-3:00 PM Mountain/10:00 AM-2:00 PM Pacific

(Note that this workshop will also be presented as a full-day workshop during GIS-Pro 2022 in Boise, Idaho. Attendance at one workshop is included with full conference registration.)

Social vulnerability to hazards is increasingly characterized by index values accessible via web-based, geospatially-driven tools.  Such tools offer different interpretations of vulnerability due to differences in purpose, methodology and data.  This workshop summarizes the considerations associated with creating a social index and explores a variety of publicly available social index tools.  Participants will learn when and how these tools are best applied for improving the resilience of their community to disasters. Covered indices will include the CDC Social Vulnerability Index (SVI), Social Vulnerability Index for the United States (SoVIĀ®), Community Resilience Indicator Analysis (CRIA), Baseline Resilience Indicators for Communities (BRIC), Community Resilience Estimates (CRE), and National Risk Index (NRI)*. Methodologies behind each of these resources, intended uses, and practical applications will be discussed.  Participants are encouraged to have access to a laptop computer in order to participate in hands-on activities. 

Contact

Wendy Nelson
(847) 824-6300
wnelson@urisa.org