Announcements

  • URISA's GISCorps Mission: Testing Sites

    More than 500 URISA GISCorps volunteers are collaborating on a very important COVID19 testing site locations map. https://bit.ly/2QTtlgS

    Submit new testing sites or updates to existing ones here 

    GISCorps volunteers will verify the information and add it to the map.

    #GISforGood #InThisTogether
  • URISA Connected Virtual Chats

    There's a great discussion about advanced degrees happening in our GIS Leadership & Management community about Advanced Degrees. 

    So, we're introducing URISA Connected Virtual Chats that we'll try to host each Friday, based upon hot topics on URISA Connect. 

    Click in on Friday, March 27 at 2 PM Eastern/1 PM Central/12 Mtn/11 AM Pacific if interested in joining the URISA Connected discussion on Advanced Degrees. 

    It'll be unscripted. We'll have a couple of lead facilitators and see how it goes!

    URISA Connected: Advanced Degrees

    Join Zoom Meeting: https://zoom.us/j/8478246300
    Meeting ID: 847 824 6300

  • URISA Office Update - Remote

    The COVID-19 situation has significant consequences across all sectors of society. Aggressive and preventative measures are being taken to protect our individual and collective health. This is an unprecedented situation which requires many of us to adjust our normal practices.
     
    In an effort to protect the health and well-being of URISA staff, we will operate on a virtual basis beginning Tuesday, March 17. Rest assured, we are not suspending or closing operations. We will continue to serve you and conduct our business on a remote basis through April 30 and then reassess the situation.

    Be well.
  • Dues Renewal - Last Call!

    Last Call! Have you renewed your 2020 URISA membership?  If not, take care of it today to make sure there is no disruption in services. 

    Memberships not renewed by March 8 will be lapsed. 

  • Exemplary Systems in Government Awards

    2020 URISA Exemplary Systems in Government (ESIG) Awards applications are invited. Submissions due June 1, 2020.
  • SSSI Mapathon - Australian Bushfire

    Give back on Sunday, February 9 to participate in the Mapathon to Support Australian Bushfire Recovery. The event is sponsored by our friends at the Surveying & Spatial Sciences Institute (SSSI).
  • NASA Disasters Program and Mapping Portal

    If you missed today's free URISA member webinar, do yourself a favor and check out the recording. 

    It was very well-received! Thanks Jeremy and Garrett!
  • NASA Disasters Program and Mapping Portal - January's Free Webinar

    NASA Disasters Program and Mapping Portal Overview

    Wednesday, January 22 (3PM Eastern/2PM Central/1PM Mountain/12Noon Pacific)

    Overview — The NASA Disasters Program promotes the use of Earth observations to improve the prediction of, preparation for, response to, and recovery from natural and technological disasters.

    This webinar will provide an introduction to the NASA Disasters Program and highlight the types of information available, as well as how users can access the information through the NASA Disasters Mapping Portal.

    Presenters — Jeremy Kirkendall, Senior GIS Administrator and Garrett Layne, GIS Specialist for the NASA Disasters Program at NASA Headquarters. 

    Free for URISA Members. Note that attendance is limited so register early to save your 'seat'. 

  • GIS/ValTech in Louisville

    Just a heads-up... early bird discounts for GIS/ValTech 2020 registration are only available for another week (expire on Jan 13). 

    Check out the program and make your plans soon.
  • URISA's GISCorps Year in Review

    Check out all the good work from GISCorps volunteers in 2019. Inspirational, certainly. 

    Get involved in 2020!
  • GIS Leadership Academy

    Have you attended the GLA yet? You've got three opportunities in 2020. Check your calendar and make it happen!  
  • CalGIS 2020

    The 26th Annual California GIS event, CalGIS 2020, is taking place in Long Beach, February 9-11. Get connected with the leaders in California GIS and take advantage of outstanding education.
  • Three GLAs in 2020

    Just finished the last of three GIS Leadership Academies in 2019 with a great turnout in Phoenix. Here is a group photo of the class. 

    If you have not yet attended a GLA, get it on your professional development calendar for 2020. We'll be in Minneapolis, Portland and St. Pete!
  • GLA in Phoenix

    Join us in Phoenix for GIS leadership and management discussions. Five days. Priceless instruction and connections!